A LABEL, A MUSIC MAGAZINE, AND A BAND WEIGH IN ON THE IMPORTANCE OF EMAIL MARKETING

email-marketing-header
Originally published on December 12th, 2016.
Property of Soundfly.

I recently abandoned my email account and started an entirely new one because I was overwhelmed by the number of mailing lists I couldn’t seem to unsubscribe from, unsafe phishing emails, and spam. Starting over has helped me recognize which email marketing lists I missed being on and pinpoint which lists are working. Emails from bands like Direct Hit! and labels like Paper + Plastick Records always got through to me — I knew about upcoming releases and tour dates, and they rarely felt spammy. Since I play in several bands and have started to run a record label, myself, I’ve lately wondered if it was worth the time and effort to set up and start writing my own mailing list.

Naturally, I figured it was best to crowdsource the answer to this question, so I asked Vinnie Fiorello from Paper + Plastick, Tony Shrum from New Noise Magazine, and Nick Woods from Direct Hit! to give me some feedback. All three kindly obliged.

First, though, I want to look at some of the claims Oshinsky made in his article about email marketing and how I think it might relate (or not relate) to those of us involved in the music industry.

Read the rest over here!

Leave a Reply

