They Already Did That – Diversifying Your Music from Trends and Cliches

28359928191_8f6250d7a0_h
Published on December 20th, 2016.
Article and Picture property of ReverbNation.

Unless the goal is to pay homage, it’s very hard for me to even appreciate an artist with no originality. Once I write off their creativity, their entire aesthetic starts to look like a cash crop. When I play shows with these bands, the smiles become fake and their performance becomes disingenuous. Even if they are genuine, I don’t find reason to listen to them more than once. They could be great musicians, but their album won’t touch my end-of-the-year lists.

Originality comes in diversity, I believe. And too often artists put themselves in a box – intentionally or not. But if you want your music to be remembered, you need it to be unique. Here are some tips that I’ve found help me escape the dull, boring blade of genericism.

Read the rest over on ReverbNation!

Leave a Reply

