Stay Positive – Don’t Let the Job Search Get You Down

stay posi
Article is property of Job Search Bible.
Originally published on May 4th, 2017.

You Don’t Have to Do This Alone
So much of success is a result of who you know, and you may just not know the right people yet.

My advice?

Go set yourself up, keep meeting people, keep applying for jobs, and most of all keep your eyes open and your head up. You’re not the first person who’s gone through this and you certainly won’t be the last.

Keep on keeping on. Stay positive.

As well, there’s definitely value to having friends who are working jobs out of college. Networking is crucial to establishing yourself in a career, and your friends are an excellent network resource.

“It’s not who you are, it’s who you know,” as the saying goes.

Not that you can’t succeed on your own, but your chances are way better with the right people surrounding and supporting you. You should ask around – see if a friend can put in a good word for you or at least find out for you if their bosses are hiring.

I landed my job two and a half years ago because of a friend and a college roommate. My friend messaged me one day and told me to send my resume to a hiring e-mail address, and shortly after my former roommate visited his boss’s office and recommended my name out of the resume pile on his desk.

In short, my personal and professional connections landed me my first job, because although I was qualified, so were many others.

After you do find a job (fingers crossed!), you should be open to doing the same for people who the same boat you’re in right now.

In turn from my friends helping me land a job, I’ve tried to pass the word on toother friends because I know what it’s like to be working at Subway with a bachelor’s degree in business. It sucks, and if there’s any way I can help people in the situation I was in, I will.

I hope you do the same.

Read the rest of my advice here.

Leave a Reply

