Well I Guess This Is Growing Up

blink-182-ppcorn-pop-art-1170x658
This article belongs to Cove Alpa!
Originally published on April 25th, 2017.

My generation was raised on Blink-182. We watched them run naked down the street in music videos. We thought it was funny when they said bad words and talked about private parts and sex in an irreverent way. I guess precursors to this (for people a little closer to 30 than I am) were things like Beavis and Butthead. Blink-182 and Beavis and Butthead both gave a similar message: “don’t grow up.” Their message changed a generation, teaching people to laugh at themselves, to get in trouble, and to stop taking life seriously. Growing up wasn’t just optional in this context – it was unallowed. However, everyone learns that growing up is means for survival, even for three naked dudes running down the street in Los Angeles singing about prank calling your Mom.

I sometimes get uncomfortable when I see so many of my peers moving to the later stages of life. To be clear, I am fine and happy where I’m at when I can shut out the rest of the world, but this call for rushed maturity can carry pretty far.

Read about how I don’t want to grow up by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

