Judging an Album By Its Cover

Article is property of Music Think Tank.
Originally published on June 12th, 2017.

“I know you can’t judge a book by its cover, but I’ve found you can judge an album by its cover.”

My friend recently said this to me and while I kind of hate to admit it, I also have found a positive correlation between good music and aesthetically pleasing packaging. If nobody’s heard your music before, the artwork may be the difference between skipping over it or checking it out – especially in the digital age where there’s so much music available for free. Here are some tips I drafted up for creating and choosing the correct album art.

Read about my favorite album covers and how ska bands shouldn’t use comic-themes in their artwork here.

Leave a Reply

